{Paper Wall}

thrift gift

Posted in art, books, thrift by thepaperwalls on December 11, 2008

This is my suggestion for those of you who are in similarly dire financial straits. It’s nothing new to me, but it may be to you, and thus, you may not know how to shop on a budget.  Here is afforable art at its best: independent, educational, accessible, and, yes, affordable.

I’m not normally a fan of semi-ironic celebrity portraiture, but I’ve been laughing over Aiyana Udesen’s “Drawing” book for years. This is why:

nelly cover nelly 2 nelly 3

nelly 6 nelly 10

The artist’s website, complete with examples of other books, is here.  The challenge comes in finding the book to purchase! I found it at both a local comic-book store, and a local bookstore.  So get away from the Internet for a moment and go look… it will make your gift more meaningful.

Of course, there’s also 20×200 for other affordable art, if you’re a bit lazy.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sarahguyollie said, on December 11, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    but I am never away from the internet …

  2. thepaperwalls said, on December 11, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    I know. Who am I kidding? I am in love with the internet.

  3. sarahguyollie said, on December 12, 2008 at 7:33 am

    i guess it’s good to have ideals to try and live up to.


Leave a Reply

